what would Satan do?

lucifer

Everyone seems to ask the other question more often.

Now I am a fan of the questions “what would Jesus do?” or “what did Jesus do?”.  I believe that both could get us some good, contemplative responses.  There is something extremely revealing when you ask how did Jesus respond to something and really think about how that would “play out” in your context and/or situation.

But…

We tend to forget/”play off”/not believe that there is an opposition to God.  There is an “accuser”.  There is an adversary.

I come from a denomination that doesn’t believe in Satan even though the Bible explicitly and repeatedly mentions it/him.  Of course, they also don’t believe in Hell.   And those that say they believe in those two things within the ranks, teach/preach the disbelief by omission.

But I’m not going to argue the validity of Satan and Hell here, I’m just going to assume you’ve read the Bible and have been taught the way Jesus taught.

So because there is an opposing force to God, what would it do?

Would Satan….

…give me success/privilege and make me feel like I deserved it?

…give me news networks/talk radio/blogs that validate my biases and alienate others?

…give me education to make much of myself while assuming others are ignorant?

…give me “freedom” so that I am fearful of those that don’t have that freedom?

…give me a nice house/car/things so that I feel obligated to protect those things from those that don’t have them?

…give me doctrine so that I can be war with other believers?

 

You see, I think it’s easier to think about “what would Jesus do?” because it can feel sweet, removed, and ethereal.  To think about “what would Satan do?” might cut into my reality.

I think “the enemy” wants to distract me, derail me, and sedate me.  Anything to hinder me from the Great Commandment and the Great Commission.  Anything to create a “pecking order”.  Anything to create an “us” and a “them”.  Anything to give me a “good” reason to be selfish and all about me.

 

I think if we’d start asking “what is the enemy doing?” we might realize what is going on and truly cry out “lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil”.

“Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.  Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place,  and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.  In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.  Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.”

Ephesian 6v10-17…

 

…maybe Paul wasn’t being poetic.

Leave a Reply

