Theology of Creating

“I get satisfaction of three kinds. One is creating something, one is being paid for it and one is the feeling that I haven’t just been sitting on my ass all afternoon.”

– William F. Buckley

“It is better to create than to be learned, creating is the true essence of life”

– Barthold Georg Niebuhr

Maybe for you it’s drawing, sculpting a masterpiece, planting a garden or building a compost. Maybe it’s creating something new or taking apart the remote to put it back together.

To be honest, I’m probably the most fulfilled when I’m doing this. There is something in us that has this instinct to conquer space and mold it into something beautiful, useful, or entertaining.

So what do I create?

-environments (one of my favorites is beside a fire pits with CCR radio playing in the background)

-photographs (a medium to capture time and a story)

-ideas (my whiteboard artists unite!!!)

-dialogue (sparking conversations with strangers)

-sermons (I’m a little “preachy”)

I tell you this, because some people have very obvious building and creating skills. My friend Kevin, can fix and build anything and everything. My brother-in-law Jon, can create some of the best beer I’ve ever tasted. My pseudo cousin Macy, as a senior in high school, can create masterpieces with charcoal pencils. The truth is that we all have this ability and we all know the Holiness of the Art and the Art of this Holiness.

Something deep is engaged.

It’s natural. It’s hard. It’s the Imago Dei (image of God) breaking through in the world through us.

Our God is THE CREATOR but He is also a creator. The nature of God is to make something new (see Genesis 1 and 2 & Revelations 21 and 22). He is always creating, whether it’s a people, a nation, a church, a meal, or a Way.

God can’t help but create, and I think we feel that same urge. When we give into that urge, we give into God.

Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men
Col.3v23

Leave a Reply

