Stop Being Right

SW1

Through many conversations, I’ve found that our doctrines are fluid.  We tend to act like things are black and white, but most of us know that this is a coping mechanism for dealing with complexity.  Most of us, when by ourselves or with those that we feel comfortable being honest with, don’t have “hard lines”.   We tend to be contemplative, compassionate, and generally philosophical.

We will use phrases like:

  • “That’s interesting”
  • “I’ve never thought of it like that”
  • “I don’t know”
  • “Hmmm”

Now I’m not naïve in believing that this is the default posture that most of us navigate our day to day operations with.  I’ve just observed that it exists within us and has a latent quality that a little prompting draws out.  You can’t point at it (this quality in us) and tell it to “come on out”, rather it needs to know that it is safe for it to be out.

It has a certain trait, like an abused dog.   Maybe that is because it use to run free and then the world beat the crap out of it.  So this posture and thinking became timid and was replaced by the group-Sith Lord thinking.  *The thinking that operates in absolutes and “you’re either with me or against me”.

It’s easier to be absolute.  It makes us feel sure and strong.  It makes us look convicted and clear.

*Well at least we look this way to the people that are acting the same way on the same side of the same issues.

(the group on the other side of the issue thinks “what an judgmental/arrogant prick”)

The Truth is we are unsure.

…and those of us that are Super Sure!!! are really insecure in our thinking because we have spent most of our energy/time agreeing (not thinking) with the position of a puffy chested figure that we idolize.

*The Super Sure have a library of one book with multiple titles and multiple authors*

If we can’t read, listen to, and have a beer/coffee with those that fundamentally disagree with us and learn something, then we’ve lost something that we were born with.

(Being right is a lousy posture for a son, husband, dad, friend and brother…I know.)

I think my life would be better if I spent more time on getting it right instead of being right.  The hard part in doing this is that it is messy and that I’ll need to realize that I’m going to be wrong a lot of the time.

On the bright side, it is become easier for me because I’ve been so wrong so many times in the past.

…If that’s the case, then why in the world would I have complete confidence that I’m right, right now?

With humility and caffeine.

Leave a comment